Royal Television Society Awards nominees 2021

Royal Television Society awards

The nominations for the 2021 RTS Programme Awards, in partnership with Audio Network, have been announced.

The nominations were announced this morning via livestream by British television presenter Ore Oduba. 

After a challenging year filled with ingenuity, resilience and dedication across the industry, the BBC leads the way with 40 nominations across the 28 categories, followed by Channel 4 with 17 and Sky with 12.

The prestigious awards will be presented, and the winners and nominees celebrated, on Tuesday 16th March at 6:30pm and hosted by renowned British television and radio presenter Jonathan Ross. The ceremony will be streamed live on the RTS website.

BBC One’s hit series I May Destroy You garners three nominations for ‘Mini-Series’, and Michaela Coel for both ‘Actor (Female)’ and ‘Writer – Drama’. For the ‘Drama Series’ category Sky received two nominations for Sky Atlantic’s Save Me Too and Sky One’s I Hate Suzie. The third nomination for this competitive category is BBC Three and BBC One Wales’ In My Skin.

New this year, the ‘Comedy Entertainment’ category recognised Channel 4’s The Big Narstie Show, BBC Two’s Antiviral Wipe and BBC Two’s The Ranganation. Standout comedy was also highlighted in the ‘Scripted Comedy’ shortlist where Sky One’s Brassic, Netflix’s Sex Education and BBC Three’s The Young Offenders are all in the running for the coveted award.

Chair of the Awards, Kenton Allen, said: “The standard of entries has been outstanding and demonstrated the breadth of high-quality content that has informed, entertained and kept audiences going through what has been such a uniquely difficult time. We very much look forward to and hope everyone will join us on the 16th March to celebrate the nominees and winners and another outstanding year of television.”


In the area of comedy the nominations are

Breakthrough Award

Big Zuu – Big Zuu’s Big Eats (Boomerang for Dave)

Robert Softley Gale – CripTales: Hamish (BBC Studios for BBC Four)

Mae Martin – Feel Good (Objective Fiction and Objective Media Group Scotland for Channel 4 and Netflix)

Comedy Entertainment

The Big Narstie Show ( Expectation/Dice Productions for Channel 4)

Charlie Brooker’s Antiviral Wipe (Broke and Bones/Endemol Shine Group for BBC Two)

The Ranganation (Zeppotron for BBC Two)

Comedy Performance (Female)

Gbemisola Ikumelo – Famalam ( BBC Studios for BBC Three)

Sophie Willan – Alma’s Not Normal (Expectation for BBC Two)

Ruth Jones – Gavin & Stacey Christmas Special (Fulwell 73, Baby Cow and Tidy Productions for BBC One)

Comedy Performance (Male)

Youssef Kerkour – Home (Jantaculum and Channel X for Channel 4)

O-T Fagbenle – Maxxx (Luti Media for Channel 4)

Paul Chahidi – This Country ( BBC Studios for BBC Three)


Beat the Chasers (Potato for ITV)

The Masked Singer (Bandicoot Scotland for ITV)

Big Zuu’s Big Eats (Boomerang for Dave)

Entertainment Performance

Big Narstie & Mo Gilligan – The Big Narstie Show (Expectation/Dice Productions for Channel 4)

Yung Filly – Hot Property (BBC Three In-House Productions for BBC Three)

Rob Beckett & Romesh Ranganathan – Rob & Romesh Vs (CPL Productions for Sky One)

Scripted Comedy

Brassic (Calamity Films for Sky One)

Sex Education (Eleven Film for Netflix)

The Young Offenders (Vico Films for BBC Three)

Writer – Comedy

Mae Martin and Joe Hampson – Feel Good (Objective Fiction and Objective Media Group Scotland for Channel 4 and Netflix)

Peter Foott – The Young Offenders (Vico Films for BBC Three)

Writing Team – Ghosts (Monumental Television for BBC One)

Leave a Reply